Implementation

A central component of the strategy Gemeinsam Digital: Berlin is a uniform implementation model for the measures that promote agility, enable comparability of different approaches, and support shared learning. The uniform implementation model is to be applied to all smart city and digital projects in the future. These projects are methodically supported by the GD:B Support Team. The implementation model helps breathe life into the strategy, realize the measures and have an impact in the city.

The model is deliberately designed to take into account the heterogeneity of different measures, their scope of action and framework conditions, and the persons responsible for the measures. It gives the actors involved a great deal of freedom in terms of operational implementation. It offers actors, including newcomers such as startups, an attractive procedure, thereby also encouraging other groups to apply for tenders and drive forward the implementation of GD:B. Approaches and instruments that serve gender equality (e.g. gender budgeting) are taken into account during implementation. In addition, the division into standardized project phases aims to facilitate open, collaborative work and enable the mutual sharing of interim outcomes and insights.

The graphic shows the phases of the implementation process.

Five different phases in the process

The implementation model consists of different phases, each of which is to lead to a concrete outcome. It is possible to start in different project phases, depending on the maturity of the measure in question. Based on the result of the preliminary process – a uniform description of the measure – it is straightforward to estimate in which phase and according to which methodology the project can be effectively continued. Based on specific method templates, formats and checklists, the implementation model offers its own support for each process phase. These promote the implementation of individual measures while at the same time enabling the transfer of knowledge between the actors.

To this end, the strategy involves the development of a manual that makes these materials available for action and provides guidance through each phase. This manual is expanded and adapted as the strategy is implemented. The materials are based on the principles for good practice set out in the strategic framework for the development of the Smart City Strategy [42], which were developed by way of a participatory process involving the urban community and through the preliminary work on the Berlin Digital Strategy [43]. The materials are continuously expanded as part of the learning strategy and complement the methodologies of the Project Management Manual of the State of Berlin [44]. Within the Berlin administration, implementation of a project according to the Project Management Manual is possible at any point; from a strategy point of view, the recommendation is to go through the preliminary process for each measure.

  • Phase I – Preliminary process

    The preliminary process aims to help define the scope and framework of a measure before its implementation begins. It helps clarify the underlying challenges and the objective of the measure and the roles and mandate of the actors, as well as resource planning, ICT framework conditions, and cost-effectiveness. The main objective is to arrive at a precise definition of the issues to be addressed. Initial public and expert participation [45] ensures that the measure is designed to meet needs and can be linked to other relevant measures. In addition, in order to enable sound planning of the measure, methods from project phases II – IV are applied in the preliminary process. In this way, it is possible to explore which work stages are to be carried out in which of the subsequent phases, or whether it is possible to start with later phases right away.

    Outcome: At the end of the phase, an Action Team has been established with clearly defined roles, responsibilities and capacities, along with a political mandate for implementation and a standardized description of the initial project and its intended impact.

  • Phase II – Exploration

    In the exploration phase, the perception of potential solutions is refined, depending on the objective. Based on research and interviews with users and experts, related examples of good practice are examined and existing assumptions verified. Key actors for the further process phases are identified and involved. Lessons learned from previous projects and other cities are considered for further development.

    Outcome: At the end of the phase, there is a clear understanding of the needs to be addressed as well as initial solutions that can be operationalized: these have been developed in participatory consultation and are now ready to enter the testing phase. In addition, indicators are defined in this phase that can later be used to verify the effectiveness of the measure.

  • Phase III – Test

    In the test phase, promising solution approaches are prototyped until they are ready for testing based on a rapid learning cycle. The goal here is not yet to develop a complete solution but to carry out a practical verification of previous assumptions on a small scale. By taking this initial practical step, it is possible to reduce the often high level of complexity of smart city and digital projects, thereby clarifying uncertainties and allowing aspects to emerge that were previously not considered or were overlooked. If necessary, the test phase can be repeated several times until the prototype meets expectations.

    Outcome: At the end of the test phase, there is a clear understanding of the measure to be developed and the developmental tasks that accompany it, based on empirical evidence.

  • Phase IV – Development

    In the transition from Phase III to regular operation, the tested prototypical aspects of the measure are (further) developed and consolidated. This phase can vary considerably, depending on the type of measure. The focus is on the further development and systemic integration of the measure into already existing structures, procedures and processes. In addition, the framework conditions for permanent operation must be guaranteed including continuous evaluation based on the overall learning strategy. The effectiveness of the measure is reviewed and ensured when it is transferred to regular operation based on the indicators defined during the course of the project.

    Outcome: At the end of the development phase, there is a functioning product that has been developed, systemically integrated and established on a permanent basis by the participants.

  • Phase V – Scaling

    In the final phase, the experience gained from the implementation of the measure is used to broaden the scope of the measure and to extend it to other contexts where applicable. This ensures a transfer of knowledge inside and outside Berlin so that others can benefit from the experience gained from implementing the measure. Measures are developed so that they can be adapted or replicated in other contexts. [46] For this reason, learning experiences are standardized, documented, and published by Action Teams in Phase V so as to enable scaling. Central agencies such as the Gemeinsam Digital Unit, the Digital Transformation Coordination Group and the Support Team provide assistance here. The scaling of successful measures is to be taken into account in the budget planning of the state of Berlin.

GD:B’s phase model enables a structured planning and implementation process for digitalization and smart city projects. The measures of the GD:B strategy differ from others not primarily through the use of digital technologies but because of the smart approach.

Smart action means that:

  • Challenges are approached creatively, openly, effectively and on a participatory basis
  • Silos within the administration and between different actors are broken down and cross-administrative cooperation is cultivated more intensively
  • Implementation expertise is built up both inside and outside the Berlin administration
  • Mutual learning takes place and a broad perspective is adopted so as to gain a comprehensive understanding of problems
  • Collaborative involvement, elaboration of user-centered requirements that are put up for discussion
  • Prototyping, testing, optimizing and stabilizing (partial) solutions based on shared principles

Despite the complexity of many measures, the involvement of the urban community and a wide variety of perspectives make them more tangible, manageable and user-centered. This approach begins in the pre-planning stage and can take effect through to the various implementation phases. The process of mutual learning between different measures and the bringing together of differing perspectives allows more robust and transparent decisions to emerge that are compatible with further developments in the future.

... implementation with the example of the Smart Water measure

Smart Water is a network measure. It first goes through the preliminary process, where the Action Team is assisted by the Support Team. At the end of the preliminary process, a decision is made as to which phase to change to and using which methodology going forward. The project plan is then adapted accordingly. Before final development of the agile planning tool, a phase of exploration and testing is probably conducted by means of a prototype in a district. If this is successful, the planning tool can be applied to the whole of Berlin and transferred to other cities.

Strategy Chapters

  • Why Gemeinsam Digital: Berlin?

  • Values Compass: How do we shape Berlin as a digital city?

  • Fields of Action: What does the city need?

  • Measures: How can we realise Berlin as a digital city?

  • Governance: How do we work together?

  • Implementation: What tools do we need?

  • Impact measurement: How do we stay on track?

  • Overview of Strategy

You can find these and other contents in the Gemeinsam Digital: Berlin strategy paper.

Download it here (in German): Strategie Gemeinsam Digital Berlin

Click here for the appendix (in German): Anhang zur Strategie

Umsetzung

Zentraler Bestandteil der Strategie Gemeinsam Digital: Berlin ist ein einheitliches Umsetzungsmodell für deren Maßnahmen, das Agilität fördert, die Vergleichbarkeit verschiedener Ansätze ermöglicht und ein gemeinsames Lernen unterstützt. Das einheitliche Umsetzungsmodell soll perspektivisch auf alle Smart City- und Digitalvorhaben angewendet werden. Diese Vorhaben werden vom GD:B-Support-Team methodisch unterstützt. Das Umsetzungsmodell hilft, die Strategie mit Leben zu füllen, die Maßnahmen zu realisieren und in der Stadt Wirkung zu entfalten.

Das Modell ist bewusst so angelegt, dass es die Heterogenität unterschiedlicher Maßnahmen, ihre Handlungsspielräume und Rahmenbedingungen sowie die Maßnahmenverantwortlichen berücksichtigt. Es gewährt den beteiligten Akteur:innen große Freiheiten in der operativen Umsetzung. Es bietet Akteur:innen, auch neuen wie Startups, ein attraktives Vorgehen und ermuntert so auch weitere Gruppen, sich auf Ausschreibungen zu bewerben und so die Umsetzung von GD:B voranzubringen. Ansätze und Instrumente, die der Gleichstellung der Geschlechter dienen (z. B. Gender Budgeting*) werden bei der Umsetzung berücksichtigt. Zudem soll durch eine Unterteilung in standardisierte Projektphasen ein offenes, kollaboratives Arbeiten erleichtert und das wechselseitige Teilen von Zwischenergebnissen und -erkenntnissen ermöglicht werden.

Die Grafik zeigt die 5 Phasen des Umsetzungsprozesses.

Fünf Phasen im Prozess

Das Umsetzungsmodell besteht aus verschiedenen Phasen, die jeweils zu einem konkreten Ergebnis führen sollen. Je nach Reifegrad einer Maßnahme ist ein Einstieg in unterschiedliche Projektphasen möglich. Mit dem Ergebnis des Vorprozesses – der vereinheitlichten Maßnahmenbeschreibung – lässt sich gut abschätzen, in welcher Phase und nach welcher Methodik mit dem Projekt sinnvoll weitergearbeitet werden soll. Durch spezifische Methoden-Templates, Formate und Checklisten bietet das Umsetzungsmodell für jede Prozessphase eigene Unterstützungsangebote. Sie fördern einerseits die Umsetzung einzelner Maßnahmen und ermöglichen andererseits den Wissenstransfer zwischen den Akteur:innen.

Dazu wird mit der Strategie ein Handbuch entwickelt, das diese Materialien für Maßnahmen verfügbar macht und durch die einzelnen Phasen leitet. Dieses Handbuch wird im Laufe der Strategieumsetzung erweitert und angepasst. Die Materialien orientieren sich an den Prinzipien für gute Praxis des strategischen Rahmens zur Erarbeitung der Smart City-Strategie [42], die in einem partizipativen Prozess mit der Stadtgesellschaft und den Vorarbeiten der Berliner Digitalstrategie [43] entwickelt wurden. Die Materialien werden im Rahmen der lernenden Strategie kontinuierlich erweitert und ergänzen die Methodiken des Projektmanagementhandbuchs des Landes Berlin [44]. Innerhalb der Berliner Verwaltung ist die Durchführung eines Projektes nach dem Projektmanagementhandbuch an jeder Stelle möglich, aus Sicht der Strategie wird ein Durchlaufen des Vorprozesses für jede Maßnahme empfohlen.

  • Phase I – Vorprozess

    Der Vorprozess soll helfen, den Umfang und die Rahmenbedingungen einer Maßnahme zu definieren, bevor mit ihrer Umsetzung begonnen wird. Er hilft, Klarheit über die zugrundeliegenden Herausforderungen und die Zielsetzung der Maßnahme, die Rollen und das Mandat der Akteur:innen, ebenso wie die Ressourcenplanung, IKT-Rahmenbedingungen und die Wirtschaftlichkeit zu erlangen. Zur Zielsetzung gehört vor allem eine genaue Definition der zu erarbeitenden Fragestellungen. Eine initiale Öffentlichkeits- und Expert:innenbeteiligung [45] stellt sicher, dass die Maßnahme bedarfsgerecht gestaltet wird und mit anderen relevanten Maßnahmen verknüpft werden kann. Um zudem eine gute Planung der Maßnahme zu ermöglichen, werden Methoden aus den Projektphasen II – IV im Vorprozess angewandt. So wird erkundet, in welcher der Folgephasen welche Arbeitsschritte durchzuführen sind oder ob eventuell direkt bei späteren Phasen angesetzt werden kann.

    Ergebnis: Am Ende der Phase steht ein Maßnahmenteam mit klar definierten Rollen, Zuständigkeiten und Kapazitäten, ein politisches Mandat zur Umsetzung sowie eine standardisierte Beschreibung des initialen Vorhabens und seiner beabsichtigten Wirkung.

  • Phase II – Exploration

    In der Explorationsphase wird, in Abhängigkeit der Zielstellung, das Verständnis für mögliche Lösungsansätze geschärft. Durch Recherchen und Interviews mit Nutzer:innen sowie Expert:innen werden verwandte Beispiele guter Praxis untersucht und bestehende Annahmen verifiziert. Schlüsselakteur:innen für die weiteren Prozessphasen werden identifiziert und miteinbezogen. Erkenntnisse aus früheren Vorhaben und anderen Städten werden für die weitere Entwicklung berücksichtigt.

    Ergebnis: Am Ende der Phase steht ein klares Verständnis der zu adressierenden Bedarfe sowie erste operationalisierbare Lösungsansätze, die in partizipativer Abstimmung entwickelt wurden und in die Erprobungsphase gehen können. Zudem werden in der Phase Indikatoren festgelegt, mit denen später die Wirksamkeit der Maßnahmen überprüft werden können.

  • Phase III – Erprobung

    In der Erprobungsphase werden im Sinne eines schnellen Lernzyklus vielversprechende Lösungsansätze prototypisch bis zur Testreife ausgearbeitet. Ziel ist hierbei noch nicht die Entwicklung einer vollständigen Lösung, sondern eine praktische Verifizierung der zuvor getroffenen Annahmen im Kleinen. Durch den Schritt in die Praxis lässt sich die oft hohe Komplexität von Smart City- und Digitalvorhaben reduzieren, Unsicherheiten werden ausgeräumt, bislang nicht berücksichtigte oder übersehene Aspekte können hervortreten. Bei Bedarf kann die Erprobungsphase mehrfach wiederholt werden, bis der Prototyp die Erwartungen erfüllt.

    Ergebnis: Am Ende der Erprobung steht ein klares durch empirische Erkenntnisse gestütztes Verständnis für die zu entwickelnde Maßnahme und die mit ihr einhergehenden Entwicklungsaufgaben.

  • Phase IV – Entwicklung

    Im Übergang von Phase III zum Regelbetrieb werden die getesteten prototypischen Aspekte der Maßnahme (weiter-)entwickelt und verstetigt. Abhängig von der Art der Maßnahme kann diese Phase sehr unterschiedlich gestaltet sein. Im Zentrum steht die Weiterentwicklung und systemische Integration der Maßnahme in bereits bestehende Strukturen, Abläufe und Prozesse. Zudem müssen die Rahmenbedingungen für einen dauerhaften Betrieb bei kontinuierlicher Evaluation im Sinne der lernenden Gesamtstrategie gewährleistet sein. Die Wirksamkeit der Maßnahme wird bei der Überführung in den Regelbetrieb anhand der im Projektverlauf festgelegten Indikatoren überprüft und sichergestellt.

    Ergebnis: Am Ende der Entwicklungsphase steht ein funktionierendes Produkt, das von den Beteiligten entwickelt, systemisch integriert und verstetigt wurde.

  • Phase V – Skalierung

    In der finalen Phase werden die Erfahrungen aus der Maßnahmendurchführung nach Möglichkeit genutzt, um den Anwendungsbereich der Maßnahme zu erweitern und ggf. auf andere Kontexte auszuweiten. Dabei wird ein Wissenstransfer innerhalb und außerhalb Berlins sichergestellt, sodass andere von den Erfahrungen aus der Maßnahmenumsetzung profitieren können. Maßnahmen werden so entwickelt, dass sie auf andere Kontexte angepasst oder repliziert werden können.[46] Lernerfahrungen werden deshalb in Phase V von den Maßnahmenteams standardisiert, dokumentiert und veröffentlicht, um eine Skalierung zu ermöglichen. Zentrale Stellen wie die Stabsstelle Gemeinsam Digital, die Koordinierungsgruppe Digitale Transformation und das Support-Team unterstützen sie darin. Die Skalierung von erfolgreichen Maßnahmen ist bei der Haushaltsplanung des Landes Berlins zu berücksichtigen.

GD:B ermöglicht durch das Phasenmodell einen strukturierten Planungs- und Umsetzungsprozess für Digitalisierungs- und Smart City-Vorhaben. Die Maßnahmen der Strategie GD:B unterscheiden sich von anderen nicht in erster Linie durch den Einsatz digitaler Technologien, sondern durch ein smartes Vorgehen.

Smartes Vorgehen bedeutet:

  • Herausforderungen werden kreativ, offen, zweckmäßig und partizipativ angegangen
  • Silos innerhalb der Verwaltung und zwischen verschiedenen Akteur:innen werden aufgebrochen und (verwaltungs-)übergreifende Zusammenarbeit stärker kultiviert
  • Umsetzungskompetenz innerhalb und außerhalb der Berliner Verwaltung wird aufgebaut
  • Voneinander lernen und den Blick weiten, um ein umfängliches Problemverständnis zu gewinnen
  • Gemeinsam gestalten, nutzer:innenzentriert Anforderungen erarbeiten und zur Diskussion stellen
  • Auf Basis gemeinsamer Grundlagen (Teil-)lösungen prototypisch entwickeln, testen, optimieren und verstetigen

Die Beteiligung der Stadtgesellschaft und eine große Perspektivenvielfalt machen viele Maßnahmen in ihrer Komplexität besser greifbar, handhabbar und nutzer:innenzentriert. Dieser Ansatz beginnt bereits in der Vorplanung und kann bis in die verschiedenen Umsetzungsphasen wirken. Der Prozess des wechselseitigen Lernens zwischen verschiedenen Maßnahmen und des Zusammenführens unterschiedlicher Perspektiven lässt robustere und nachvollziehbarere Entscheidungen entstehen, die für weitere Entwicklungen in der Zukunft anschlussfähig sind.

... die Umsetzung am Beispiel der Maßnahme Smart Water

Smart Water ist eine Netzwerkmaßnahme. Sie durchläuft zunächst den Vorprozess, bei dem das Maßnahmenteam vom Support-Team begleitet wird. Am Ende des Vorprozesses wird festgelegt, in welcher Phase gewechselt und mit welcher Methodik weitergearbeitet werden soll. Daraufhin wird der Projektplan angepasst. Voraussichtlich wird vor der finalen Entwicklung des agilen Planungstools eine Phase der Exploration und Erprobung mittels eines Prototypen in einem Stadtteil durchgeführt. Ist diese erfolgreich, kann das Planungstool auf ganz Berlin angewandt und auf andere Städte übertragen werden.

Die Kapitel der Strategie

  • Icon Smart City Berlin

    Warum Gemeinsam Digital: Berlin?

  • Icon Wertekompass

    Wertekompass: Wie gestalten wir Berlin als digitale Stadt?

  • Icon Handlungsfelder

    Handlungsfelder: Was benötigt die Stadt?

  • Icon Massnahmen

    Maßnahmen: Wie können wir Berlin als digitale Stadt realisieren?

  • Icon Governance

    Governance: Wie wollen wir arbeiten?

  • Icon Umsetzung

    Umsetzung: Welche Werkzeuge brauchen wir?

  • Icon Wirkungsmessung

    Wirkungsmessung: Wie bleiben wir auf dem Kurs?

  • Icon Übersicht

    Die Strategie im Überblick

Diese und weitere Inhalte findest du im Strategiepapier Gemeinsam Digital: Berlin

Jetzt hier herunterladen: Strategie Gemeinsam Digital Berlin

Hier geht es zum Anhang zur Strategie.